IN LOVE: Budget Wardrobe

Over the past few weeks I let you in on my not so little secret that I am NOT a high rolla. My husband and I both work part-time so you can only imagine that our budget gets pretty tight [but we totally manage]. I don’t want you to think I’m super rich, and can throw my money wherever and however I want to. I think that’s an important fact in a blogger’s life because often times I suggest things that I like. The truth is, sometimes they are out of my own personal budget. I’m trying to keep it real here at bedsidesign and so today I am letting you in on one of my own personal projects. You see, I mentioned Thursday that I am not a fashion expert. Don’t get me wrong, I love clothes but often the cost of them makes building a wardrobe feel like daunting task or unattainable goal. Today I’m here to say, it can happen on a budget! [Imagine me doing a little dance and waving my hands in the air like I just don’t care!]

I wrote out a list of classic items that I need to fill up my closet and are versatile. I work from the list every time I go shopping and it helps me stay focused. Behold the 12 key items to building a Christie Jones-esque wardrobe…the best part is no item is over $50 and hopefully you like some of them too:

in love: building a classic womens wardrobe on a budget

[ one | two | three | four | five | six | seven | eight | nine | ten | eleven | twelve ]

The top 12 items on the list: A snazzy blazer. A killer party dress. A classic chambray shirt. Standard v-neck tee. A fancy button-down. Comfy cords. Sexy black jeans. Dark-wash skinnies. A pretty belt. Oversized boyfriend watch – this baby is only $16.99! Let’s face it, I live in Syracuse…glittens are a must [mittens + gloves]. Black loafers with a tiny heel – I love being short and I’m not really into wearing heels all the time. Numbers three – four, and six – eight are crossed off my list – hooray! Now I’m just working on building in the rest of the pieces…slowly but surely. What are your wardrobe must-haves? Do you work on a budget?

Don’t forget to check the pinterest board when you can repin your favorite items!

UPDATE: I mentioned in a comment that the black loafers would look awesome with ban.do shoe clips. Well Erin from artsocial included them in her black & white IN LOVE roundup and you have GOT to check them out.

Also, I peaked into a local thrift store today looking for a credenza. I did not find one but I did find a $7 black blazer with white trim….booyah! Crossing #1 off the list.

8 comments

    • bedsidesign

      Ah I’m glad you like it Kate. I’m trying to stick with pieces that can be used with other pieces. Like those pants could work with any of those shirts! Plus, I like to keep it spicy with a punch of red here and there! Perfect for the holidays too!

  1. Pingback: IN LOVE: B&W | artsocial

Leave a Reply

