Frames, Prints, [re]think Syracuse!

One of the many benefits of working in the Delevan Center is “The FREE Table” or so it is called. Sure the galleries are awesome, my job is pretty great, but that FREE table can be the cherry on top. I knew I struck gold when I found a set of rounded corner wood frames with spotless white mattes. I removed the lovely artwork and displayed it at work. I brought the frames home and couldn’t figure out what to put in them. That is, until I discovered [re]think Syracuse. Remember that awesome print I bought from Craft Chemistry? Well this weekend Ian and I decided to buy 1 more print so that we could display the frames in the same room. Behold:

Print #1: We got a lotta compliments on this one! It is all the different neighborhoods of Syracuse.

P.S. more on that wooden object soon – yes, it is a DIY!

Print #2: The Newbie! Spotlight on Franklin Square. We don’t live in Franklin Square but it is easily one of our favorite spots. We even took a photography date there [stayed tuned for tomorrow’s afternoon post].

I love the color scheme, graphic nature and the story behind the prints. As someone who is in love with Syracuse I was thrilled to see someone else even more passionate about this city. Jason Evans is the designer behind [re]think Syracuse.

“If you are not yet aware of this, it will not take you long to realize — I have an immense [perhaps sometimes overboard] passion for the city of Syracuse. I was born here; I grew up here; I live here; I was educated here; and I am now practicing architecture here. The city has provided me with a forum of interaction, a place to form a wealth of experiences. I am an avid traveler, whenever possible immersing myself in cities all over the world, and bringing that knowledge back home. I am as equally enamored with the wonderful existing urban fabric of Syracuse as I am alarmed by its current apparent state of despair. I can sense, and see, the amazing potential that the city and region is poised on the edge of — just waiting for a little push, for some people to stir things up a bit, for the dialogue to become concrete action.”

Knowing that background info I can proudly display his work in our home and hope that it will become a conversation starter in our living room. I hope to have the complete collection someday [what a great gallery wall idea]. How awesome are all of these?

4 comments

Leave a Reply

