Howkapow!

YAY! Friday is here and boy do I have a treat to share with you. In an effort to promote “Being Christie Jones” I decided to scrap today’s regularly scheduled Prints + Patterns + Spaces post and share a recent find. Cat from Howkapow contacted me this week and I have been drooling over her online shop all week-long. She was gracious enough to answer some questions so that we can get to know the mastermind behind this quirky shop. I seriously feel like I would buy everything from this place so if you feel like you share my love for eclectic home and fashion accessories check it out. Oh, and did I mention that they are a UK company – even better!

howkapow!

Before we get to the little Q&A I must share some of my favorite items. I had to exercise a lot of control and narrow these down since I wound up almost posting their entire website. Behold, my top 3 picks:

Howkapow: upholstery orange cushion

It was like love at first site when I saw this cushion. Colorful, hints of black and white, hand dyed cotton satin, geometric shapes? I want to cuddle with it, hug it, love it. Yes, I’m smitten.

Howkapow: orange coffee maker

The hubs and I try not to be coffee snobs but, I think we may be. We aren’t vocally snobbish to others but when it comes to making our own we wanna do it right [I should say he since he is the home barista]. I think this little splash of color would make the brewing process that much more special. Plus, we could hang this print somewhere near our coffee bar!

Howkapow: orange fox tray

Now this is foxy! Talk about a head-turner. I would love to entertain with this bad boy.

On to the good part – the Q&A with Cat How:

What’s your favorite thing about your city?
My favourite things (can I have more than one?!) about Bristol are the music and art festivals and sense of community. Even though it’s a big city, you will always bump into someone you know just wandering along the street and there is a really strong sense of local pride in what people do and where people come from. Bristolians love music, independence, good food… and throwing a great party!
 
Why did you decide to open an online shop?
Back in the summer of 2010, I had just finished a Masters in Design at Art College in London (Central Saint Martins) and my husband and I wanted to move back to Bristol because we missed all our friends and the city so much. We also decided we wanted to work together and try to put something back into the local community. We set up the online shop as a precursor to opening up a shop / gallery / artspace in the city later. We wanted a business founded on values of fairness and honesty – and we wanted to support and promote new and independent designers and illustrators.
 
What is on your bedside table?
My husband made my bedside table for me with ceramic tiles that I made myself so I love it! It’s bright blue and always has on it: my bright yellow bedside lamp; a large glass of water and a book. At the moment it’s Jack Kerouac’s On The Road.
 
What are five things you couldn’t live without?
My husband. My friends and family. My iPhone (shameful!). Coffee. Red wine.
Thanks Cat for reaching out. My bedsidesigners check out Howkapow – you won’t regret it!
Leave a Reply

