DIY: The Beginnings of a Gallery Wall

I love gallery walls. One of my all time favorites is from Young House Love – their hallway gallery has the most amazing collection. Definitely check their post out because they also offer an amazing tutorial on how to hang all those frames. By using the same color frames all the artwork and displayed items look cohesive. I picked out a wall in my living room/dining room and it has stayed unharmed.

I was mesmerized the first time I saw this. I have an awesome Rothko print that will live on the other side of the wall so I wanted that to mesh well with my collection. I settled on unstained wood frames. We picked up 5 frames in rectangles and squares from A.C. Moore for $1 each.

unstained wood frames from AC Moore

Now the hard part…what to I put in them? I’m planning on making this wall a mixture: pictures of us, quotes, odd graphics and bold colors…totally us. I’ve been collecting scraps of paper and paint chips so I threw together 5 (almost free) pieces. I used a bit of washi tape too. If you are planning on making a gallery wall you can pick a theme and find variations of it. Since we are more eclectic I didn’t want to take it too seriously.

gallery wall DIY by bedsidesign

Before I committed to placing them on the wall I put them on the table and started playing with the arrangement. Have fun with this! I changed it up a ton of times.

DIY gallery wall by bedsidesign

Since our walls are nearly impossible to drill holes into [concrete + brick] and we live in an apartment I used Scotch adhesive mounting tape – this also makes it easier to change-up later if needed.

DIY gallery wall by bedsidesign

Each frame is slight irregular so we didn’t worry too much about whether it was straight or not. Now that we have a core we can branch outward as we add photos and frames. It was so easy and I’m so happy we got started on it. What do you think? What would you put in a gallery wall?

5 comments

  1. Kristin B

    I loooove gallery walls, too! I have one in my apartment above my piano. I did things the opposite of you – all of my frames are mis-matched, but the “art” itself is neutral in colour so everything still looks cohesive. It’s one of my favourite parts of my place!

    Have fun adding more to yours! :D

    • bedsidesign

      Oh Kristin that’s awesome! Yeah I was debating between doing all artwork within a similar color palette but then I couldn’t get rid of that letterpress dinosaur head so I picked matching frames. It is definitely is a fun on-going project! :)

  2. Pingback: Frames, Prints, [re]think Syracuse! « bedsidesign
  3. Pingback: Blogger of the Month: Christie Jones from Bedsidesign! | Sworley Thoughts
  4. Pingback: Apartment Tour: Living Room / Dining Room Combo « bedsidesign

Leave a Reply

