October: Promoting a Blogging Community

I’m so excited to share with you some exciting new bloggers & shops. I put a call out and the response was really encouraging! Today I am pleased to introduce you to the new October buttons that are featured on the sidebar [look to the right and scroll down]. I decided to ask some of my favorite questions to get to know these awesome ladies a little bit more.

First up is Emily‘s etsy shop Emmyton’s.

Welcome to Emmyton's, a little handmade shop.

What’s your favorite thing to do in your city or about your city?
Wichita is quite diverse, my hubby and I find that there is always a new restaurant to try, music events to see and then there are the museums and parks to visit.

Why do you blog?
I decided to open an etsy shop, Emmyton’s, because of the free time that being unemployed left me with.  I wanted to do something with all the creative energy I have, it’s the perfect outlet and maybe will bring in a bit of money someday.

Can you share a recent favorite read or find (could be music, a blog etc.)?
I’m not big for magazines but my current favorite is Whole Living, I love the natural health information and recipes they include because there is always something for me to try or learn about.  The days that it comes in the mail are very exciting!

What is an interest, or something you’re passionate about?
I absolutely adore dogs, they do so much for us and don’t always get the love and compassion that they deserve.  So I tend to support rescue groups, humane societies, bloggers and authors who work tirelessly for animals.

What is on your bedside table?

Besides my alarm clock and a lamp I have a sound machine on my bedside table.  I know that sounds strange but I love falling asleep to the sound of rain or the ocean.  Those are my two favorite settings.  Believe when I say I never use the one that sounds like a heartbeat, that’s just creepy!

What are five things you couldn’t live without?
My hubby, our dogs, Cocoa Dolce Chocolates, my iPhone and a good workout.

Next is one of my Happiness Project/Blog Brunch buddies – Alyssa from All Things Beautiful.

alyssa from all things beautiful

What’s your favorite thing to do in your city or about your city?
I love living in Los Angeles because there is always something fun and interesting to do! You will never get bored in L.A.!

Why do you blog?
Writing helps me process and share what I’m learning as I go through life. My blog is a creative outlet where I write about life, love, and trying to see the beauty in everything.

Can you share a recent favorite read or find (could be music, a blog etc.)?
I’m absolutely obsessed with Ellie Goulding‘s new single “Anything Could Happen” and can’t wait to get her new album!

What is an interest, or something you’re passionate about?
In honor of my grandmother who passed away from Alzheimer’s disease in 2008, I’ve lead a team for the Walk to End Alzheimer’s for the last three years. This year, we raised over $1,000 towards the cause!

What is on your bedside table?
Junk, mostly! But also the handwritten love note from my husband that I read just moments before our wedding ceremony!

What are five things you couldn’t live without?
Prayer, Burt’s Bees Beeswax Lip Balm, Hand lotion, Hugs from my husband, Chocolate
Trina Lambert is another lover of design and typography and blogs over here.

What’s your favorite thing to do in your city or about your city?
Richmond, Virginia is a highly creative and innovative city. The thriving arts scene here plays a huge role in this. It embraces two of my favorite things — design and music.

Why do you blog?
I am an introvert so it’s a good medium to get my voice out there. I allows me to share my thoughts, knowledge and hopefully — along the way — inspire people that have the same passions as I do. I enjoy hearing others insight and opinions too … meeting new people with like-minded interests.

Can you share a recent favorite read or find (could be music, a blog etc.)?
I recently read the book Blink and really enjoyed it. It gives insightful information involving mental processes and the role it plays in making judgements and quick decisions. You would find it interesting if you were a lover of psychology and the in-depth workings of the human mind, like me.

What is an interest, or something you’re passionate about?
If you check out my blog, you will find that I am pretty passionate about four things: design (including typography), music, my family and dogs. Although my family ranks first in my life, when it comes to the others, I am equally obsessed. I pour my heart and soul into these interests of mine and attribute them to my happiness.

What is on your bedside table?
My phone, alarm clock and lamp. Stacked on the shelf underneath are about 8 books that I have read a quarter to half of the way through. My attention span — along with the ability to get bored with one thing pretty easily — does not allow me to make it through reading many books in their entirety.

What are five things you couldn’t live without?
My family, My dog, Music, Design, Sunshine

YAY another one of my Happiness Project friends is featured, Louise from Laid Off Mom.
laidoffmom_louise

What’s your favorite thing to do in your city or about your city?
When I have the chance, I like to head to the Torrey Pines State Beach or Miramar lake…either for a run or to just stroll and think…the views are breathtaking, and it helps to clear my head.

Why do you blog?
This has been a recurrent question…one that has been on my mind a lot lately. I started blogging because I was laid off last year, and I wanted an outlet where I could share my thoughts, my ideas and my creative side. From day one, it has always been my goal to turn my blog into a source of income…one that would be able to help support my family, while at the same time allow me to be home with my girls…to give them a solid upbringing. It’s been almost a full year of blogging and I can’t imagine doing anything else at the moment. The gears in my head are constantly turning, and I feel like I have much more to say and do, than I have time to post for. I live and breathe my blog…it’s my own lil’ nook in this vast blogiverse, and I love it! It’s also amazing the amount of friends I’ve made (Christie included!) who inspire me and motivate me on a daily basis. I couldn’t have asked for anything more!

Can you share a recent favorite read or find (could be music, a blog etc.)?
I’m gonna name 2 things: hehe 1) Miss Christina Perri & 2) this blogpost.

I love her music! I got a chance to see Christina Perri sing live last year, and she is beyond amazing. When you see her in person…she is not only beautiful, but she sings from her heart. Every note she belts out is filled w/ so much emotion…you can tell that she loves what she does, and she gives it her all.

And the blog post I mentioned earlier, talks about how finding your blogging voice isn’t as easy as creating it…it has to come to you. I feel like I’ve found my voice this year, and it’s helped me to write better and uncover a lot of great things about myself and this blogging journey of mine. Great advice!

What is an interest, or something you’re passionate about?
It’s no secret that I’m ooober supportive of being authentic. Finding what your good at, what you love to do, combining the two and creating a life around it. I only have one life, and I intend to live it my way…the best way I know how!

What is on your bedside table?
My nook, my red journal, a pen, and the baby monitor (my girls are 3.5 & 5, and I still wanna make sure they’re sleeping soundly and are safe)…I check on them at least once during the night still =)

What are five things you couldn’t live without?
CHOCOLATE, my journal (which I take everywhere), baby wipes, chapstick, iphone.

Last but certainly not least is Sabrine from Sabje.

What’s your favorite thing to do in your city or about your city?
My favourite thing to do in Delft is enjoying the sun from a sidewalk cafe with a delicious cup of coffee or tea.

Why do you blog?
I blog because I love writing and sharing experiences.

Can you share a recent favourite read or find (could be music, a blog etc.)?
I recently started reading books by Stephanie Perkins and I am really enjoying her writing style.

What is an interest, or something you’re passionate about?
I am very passionate about food, I adore baking and cooking but also like to visit different places to taste different kinds of food.

What is on your bedside table?
My bedside table is covered with books, most days you will also find an empty cup of tea.

What are five things you couldn’t live without?
Books, My kitchen, coffee, tea and of course the internet.
There you have it! Erin from artsocial wasn’t featured in this roundup since she is on a road trip as you know. Sara from Beautifully Contained answered these questions in her first guest post for the DIY series. Please check out their blogs and send them some love. I’m super excited for October and the awesome things ahead for bedsidesign!
9 comments

  1. Pingback: The Happiness Project: Community « bedsidesign
  2. Pingback: Local Community + Happiness « bedsidesign
  3. Pingback: Blog Call: November « bedsidesign

Leave a Reply

