The Happiness Project: Week 2

CAUTION: THE WORD “HAPPY” IS USED 7 TIMES BELOW. THIS POST IS NOT FOR THE FAINT OF HEART.

The Happiness Project linkup

Thursdays are turning into one of my favorite days of the week due to The Happiness Project: Be Happy Linkup! A bunch of rad bloggers are all linking up on Thursdays with inspiring, positive, and compelling posts. I decided last-minute that I needed to join the bandwagon before it was too late. I can honestly say I’m so happy that I did! I ordered my copy of The Happiness Project and I am anxiously waiting for it to arrive.

your dream job does not exist you must create it by bedsidesign

[I created this image using Phoster]

I loved seeing that quote streaming all throughout pinterest. Dream jobs are tough. I like the idea of having to create your dream job because that means there is some work that has to take place – hence the reason why it is a job. I read a fellow blogger’s [Girl with The Blue Bow] post about her ideal day which got me thinking about what makes me happy and what my “ideal day” would be like.

Some of my friends ask me why I blog, how long it takes, and if I am going to continue doing it. But one of the biggest questions I am asked is if I like it. No, I don’t like it. I love it. It is something that I am intentional about. I love communication and this is my favorite form. I blog because it started as a hobby and I can’t stop. I blog because I love sharing inspiration and creativity. I blog because it brings me so much joy. Blogging takes up a large portion of my time. Whether it is creating a video, collaborating with others [get ready for some exciting announcements coming soon] or just editing text blogging takes time. I don’t mind that it takes time though because I love it. I have no plans of stopping. My plans are to amp it up!

My ideal day would be to continue blogging as my dream job. I know there are so many other blogs [that are awesome!] out there. Sometimes that discourages me but I also know that no one else is Christie Jones. I blog because I love engaging with you. I have “met” so many wonderful, and inspiring people through bedsidesign. I love seeing emails and comments or tweets from fellow bloggers and readers. It warms my heart. You make me happy. Yep, you’re making me happy right now – thank you! Happiness is a choice and I am choosing what makes me happy.

you are what you love by bedsidesign

[I also created this image using Phoster]

The saying is true – you are what you eat and I’m sure you are what you love. I’ve never really embraced labels or titles and I still sheepishly chuckle when someone mentions that I am a blogger. I still feel like a freshman entering high school – full of potential, full of nerves, and am praying to God I don’t get shoved in a locker [don’t worry that never happened to me but still!]. When I made the vlog I almost didn’t want to say my name. Over the course of this series though I am going to try to embrace what I love and where my passions lie. In school this week they asked me what I do – and I said that I blog. Now, they didn’t know what a blog was but I still admitted to it. That was a huge milestone for me. Without being all philosophical I hope you continue on this journey with me – I have no idea where it is going, but I will be nailing down some goals shortly.

I would love to hear about what makes you happy, where you find joy and how you are pursuing it. If you are a blogger and are interested in joining the link up check out the link at the bottom.

Click here to enter OR enter through artsocial’s linkup.

13 comments

  1. Gab

    It is funny starting to identify as a blogger. My own blog has only recently started to grow and gain a consistent readership, and I feel a little nervous placing myself among the ranks of other bloggers that I admire. Owning up to the title is all part of it too, and since I’ve decided to call myself a blogger and devote more time to blogging, I’ve become much more motivated to create strong content.

  2. rita

    love this christie! it’s funny b/c after finding you via blog brunch i considered you to be an established blogger so it’s interesting to hear about your concerns/worries/fears! i also have only told a few people in my real life about the blog… glad i’m not the only one to do that! but i’m even happier that you were able to overcome your fear and accept it! congrats! xo

    • bedsidesign

      Thanks Rita! Yes I still certainly do have concerns and worries! I only started this in January 2012 so I’m still learning a ton! I loved linking up like this and hearing where everyone is at. :)

  3. sperlinglisa

    I’m so glad you’ve joined us! I had to postpone a couple of times myself, but that’s the beauty about this link-up – the door is always open :) And you have no idea how good it feels to connect with people, who are on the same journey of trying to create their dream job. I agree that Thursdays have officially turned into one of my favorite days of the week. I loved reading everyone’s posts tonight, and suddenly don’t feel so alone in this anymore. I look forward to reading many more of your posts and am glad you’re following your passion!

    • bedsidesign

      I’m so glad that you are in the link up too! I love your blog and thrilled that we can all connect. Blogging can definitely feel lonely at times so it is great to have this group going. Can’t wait to find out more about you!

  4. Erin

    Omigosh, girl. First, loved your warning at the top haha. Happiness really is only for the truly brave! Second, I could not agree with you more!! I have a hard time admitting to others (and myself) that I want to make a career for myself as a blogger. Why is that so hard to admit! I think it’s the legitimacy thing… which is so silly. Here’s to embracing our passion! I KNOW we can do this… and I cannot wait for Monday ;)

    • bedsidesign

      Hi Erin! Yes it totally is a legitimacy thing! I loved how your post tied into what I was saying and feeling. I’m thrilled to know that you are also going through this and I’m super excited to see where it takes us! Monday is going to ROCK! :)

Leave a Reply

