Behind the Scenes + 5 Tips to Spruce up Your Blog!

Today I’m dishing the behind the scenes details and inspiration that led me to spruce things up a bit over here! Did you notice the new header,  social media buttons [to your right] or maybe you saw my new twitter, facebook, and pinterest profile pictures, or the 2 new blog button options! I see amazing blog designs on a daily basis and I am always wondering how the blogger came up with the concept. I am using a wordpress.com theme so I am very limited to what I can actually change. I’ve been thinking about switching over to a self-hosted site for 2013 and I am currently crunching numbers. In the meantime, I decided to change some of the things I have control over. Here is a moodboard that I created to keep me focused while making the changes.

bedsidesign blog inspiration moodboard

Here are the steps that I took to give my blog a new look. These steps may be helpful for those of you limited in what you can change on your blog!

Step 1: Pick a new font. Although I love me some Lobster 2 for the past month I feel like it has popped up on every blog [nothing wrong with that!]. I just needed a change and wanted to pick something that was a bit more straight forward. After testing our over 30 fonts – seriously no joke – I decided on spinwerad. Do you like it? Another top contender was Kristi so I included it in this moodboard. I will probably use this as an accent here and there.

Step 2: Pick a color theme and stick with it. Most of you know that I LOVE color! This was even harder than picking a new font! I really wanted to stay in a more monochrome palette. Check out this amazing design guide on color with Chelsea Fullerton and Emma Robertson. I also knew I wanted to take the monochrome palette one step further by keeping it in an ombre style. I pinned that amazing table runner by LEIF a while back [16 weeks to be exact – thanks for the accuracy pinterest] and picked the colors right from it. Now I’ll clue you in on a little something: I also struggled picking the colors. Are you starting to see a pattern here? Yeah – it took me a while to make these decisions which I think is perfectly normal and okay. So if you are getting stressed take a deep breath, it’ll be okay. Something I was considering was whether this color palette was “too girly” or not. I rationalized that I am in fact a girl, and there’s nothing wrong with being a little girly.

Step 3: Pick a design theme. I’ve been obsessed with confetti lately [so much so that I requested some of the leftover confetti from Brooklyn Bride had after The Cream Event]. That awesome gold confetti is courtesy of Brooklyn Bride. Doesn’t confetti just make you want to party? Well it does for me and I want my blog to be where the party is at! I found an awesome brush tool and went to town! Let’s be real it was either confetti or sea otters everywhere and I feel like that may have been a bit over the top…but I totally considered it!

Step 4: Design, rinse and repeat… It’s important that whatever I design is cohesive and duplicated where necessary – first I created the blog header, next came the blog buttons. I decided based on some great readership survey results to put a little more focus on Christie Jones [that’s me] so I added a photo of myself in a similar color palette. I designed a blog button that would be straight forward – just my logo, then added that to a second version with my photo so people would know who is behind this little blog. I also wanted my social media buttons to have the same feel so I designed them with a same feel repeating patterns, and colors.

Step 5: Finalize and upload! My finalizing process was taking a break from looking at everything and coming back to it later. Sometimes a fresh pair of eyes make all the difference. I also showed Ian and he approved so I made it concrete and hit upload. That’s it!

What do you think?

One comment

  1. Pingback: Prints + Patterns + Spaces: POLKA DOTS! «

Leave a Reply

