DIY: Ombre Coasters!

Our apartment has white walls and rose/beige carpeting throughout so needless to say it is screaming for some color. I certainly don’t have a problem with color. The last apartment still had all the original woodwork [moldings, floors, doors etc.] so it looked really heavy and drab. I tried to spruce it up with a lot of white accents to make it appear bright and cheery [I’m still not sure if it really worked so don’t quote me on this!]. Now that we are in a white, boxy apartment all my white decorative accents are blending into the walls. JoAnn’s put their acrylic paint on sale [who can resist a sale on acrylic paint?] so I stocked up on some new colors  for DIY projects. The first projet I would like to share is extremely easy and cost-effective. You can make 5 coasters for under $10!

DIY Coaster project by bedsidesign

Home Depot sells individual tiles that are extremely cheap. We picked 5 tiles for $0.40 each. To make sure that the tiles won’t scuff or scratch your furniture purchase self-adhesive bumpers. We found a pack for about $3. We put six on for each coaster.

The four paints used in the DIY coaster project by besidesign

A DIY project for ombre coasters by bedsidesign

You can leave the tiles as is or you can decorate them. I love ombre patterns so I knew that these would look great in the accent colors I’m using in our living room/dining room. At JoAnn’s I picked up 4 colors to go with this project: one metallic gold, one white, and two colors an orange and bright red. Each paint was about $0.40 on sale. I mixed the colors up and painted each coaster, let them dry and painted a second coat.

Affordable DIY coaster project by bedsidesign

I think they look pretty great stacked and unique as individual coasters. The texture of the stone tiles mixed with the colorful hues has a really modern feel.

Stacked DIY ombre coasters by bedsidesign

What do you think? Are you working on any DIY projects?

4 comments

  1. Pingback: Apartment Tour: Sneak Peek #1 «
  2. Pingback: Blogger of the Month: Christie Jones from Bedsidesign! | Sworley Thoughts

Leave a Reply

