Local Peek: Craft Chemistry

Craft Chemistry sign

Since I moved to Syracuse I have fallen in love with this city. There are so many unique and wonderful (often times hidden gems) shops, galleries and cafes – you get the point. You may remember Craft Chemistry where I purchased some sweet vintage earrings and a great typographic print of Syracuse. The second I strolled into this store I was instantly inspired. The creativity is everywhere from painter’s tape wall graphics to the incredible hand-picked items strewn about and displayed delicately. This is my far my favorite little boutique in Syracuse. Briana Kohlbrenner the owner of Craft Chemistry (or C2) graciously let us take some pictures and answered some questions!

Craft Chemistry is a local boutique in Syracuse NYCraft Chemistry in Syracuse NYCraft Chemistry is a local boutique -photos by Ian Jones

bedsidesign: What’s your favorite thing to do in your city (or about your city)?
Briana: My recent most favorite thing to do in Syracuse is hang out in the Everson plaza! Whether it’s eating lunch there or chilling out at night to watch some short films put on by UVP – – it’s a wonderful spot! For me it’s just the slice of urban life that recharges me.

bedsidesign: Why do you own a shop?
Briana: Owning my own handmade shop was something that I always wanted to do, but for a long time it was a “back of my mind” kinda thing that I didn’t think would really happen. Sometime in 2008 I found myself at a crossroads in my career and literally there was a moment when a bell went off in my head and said “hey, member when you wanted to own a handmade shop and craft in it? Let’s do it!” So I did.

bedsidesign: How do you select the items for sale in your shop?
Briana: It’s important for me to showcase wares that are originally designed and inspired by current trends, but honestly I go with my gut. At the end of the day, I do my best to create a shopping environment where my customers feel like they stepped out of Syracuse and into a shop that is fun, edgy, colorful and exciting. I hope visitors leave with the impression that Syracuse is a hot spot for art and maybe they’ll be inspired to produce something here too.

bedsidesign: Can you share a recent favorite read or find (could be music, a blog etc.)?
Briana: Lately I’ve really been enjoying the blog “Design For Mankind” by Erin Loechner. I find how she curates her blog to be extremely inspirational and like her taste.

Craft Chemistry is a local boutique -photos by Ian JonesCraft Chemistry is a local boutique -photos by Ian Jones Craft Chemistry is a local boutique -photos by Ian Jones

bedsidesign: What is an interest, or something you’re passionate about (this could be a cause that you support)?
Briana: I am really passionate about encouraging young adults to be daring in their professions, take risks, be adventurest, explore where they live and visit, do things that inspire themselves daily, keep creating and making or start to!

bedsidesign: What is on your bedside table?
Briana: My bedside table is an old wooden box that is suspended on the wall next to my bed. In this box I have a small chest of drawers that was my grandmothers and I store small knick-knack treasures that I’ve collected along my life’s journey –  a small stone from a hike with a friend, the first necklace my husband bought for me when we were first dating, those sort things. I always have a glass of water, pen and paper, random hair ties and clips, and an incomplete set of vintage wooden alphabet blocks sloppily stacked on top – and currently have a fertility book too.

bedsidesign: What are five things you couldn’t live without?
1- my husband
2- my family
3- close friends
4- art 
5- big city inspiration

Thanks so much Briana. If you live in Syracuse I highly recommend checking Craft Chemistry out.

*please note photos were taken by Ian Jones.

Craft Chemistry

745 N. Salina Street

Syracuse, NY 13208

Shop Hours:

Tuesday – Friday: 1 pm – 6 pm

Saturday: 11 am – 4 pm

3 comments

  1. Trina Curran

    That place looks super neat. I have always wanted to move to upstate New York. My husband is from Buffalo. We live in stinky, hot, Texas. Ha! I love to find little shops like this. There are some around here too that make it a little more bearable. :)

    • bedsidesign

      Trina it is super cute. I’m originally from Long Island and was kind of scared to move upstate but I really love it! I’m sure Texas has its selling points (I hear the tex-mex is to die for).

  2. Pingback: Local Community + Happiness « bedsidesign

Leave a Reply

