The HUMP: Part 21 – To The Moon & Back

I love when people express their feelings. I would like to consider myself a very communicative person in my relationships, work, and life. I think verbal communication is wonderful, but there is something so unique about reading a love letter, or getting a text message or email. It amazes me that works evoke feelings and feelings stir you to act. I think that’s just one of the reasons why I love typographic prints. They can silently communicate something so strong and they are a snapshot of an expression that doesn’t change. Today I have Erica Stevens of Sydney and Company sharing her “To The Moon & Back” print.

Love you to the moon & back print by Sydney N Company

You may recognize the font used – it’s one of my favorites and the font used in bedsidesign’s logo – it is Lobster 2. The artwork is a giclee print on premium quality fine art paper. Erica was kind enough to answer some questions!

bedsidesign: What’s your favorite thing to do in your city (or about your city)?
Erica: Right now Tucson is in the midst of monsoon season, with storms lighting up the sky throughout July and August. It’s fun to enjoy cocktails on the patio while watching a monsoon move in. 

bedsidesign: Why do you design?
Erica: I love finding design solutions. It’s not only something I love to do, but feel drawn to. I recently discovered typography designer Jessica Hische. I’m a huge fan of her work – keeps me inspired to create something that looks good, but also functions well.

bedsidesign: Can you share a recent favorite read or find (could be music, a blog etc.)?
Erica: I love the design and content on ohjoy.com. Very inspirational!

bedsidesign: What is on your bedside table?
Erica: On my bedside table I have my iPad (I’m addicted to my news feeds), a bird candle holder with a lavender votive (from Pier 1), and Korres Guava Lip Butter (a must-have in the dry, Arizona desert)!

bedsidesign: What are five things you couldn’t live without?
– my daughter Sydney (she’s 5)
– my iPad
– Creative Suite Design programs
– Pinkberry
– Trader Joe’s lavender salt scrub

Thanks so much Erica! Please check out Sydney and Company‘s other prints!

P.S. This post was so excited that it tried to be published yesterday!

Leave a Reply

