DIY – Hanging On My Walls: Paint Chip Artwork

I love creating low-budget artwork for our apartment. I was really inspired by Apartment Therapy‘s “Use Paint Chips to Create Wall Art” a couple of months back and thought it was a great  DIY idea. Ian and I took a trip to our local Goodwill and snatched up a bunch of frames for $0.99 – you can’t go wrong with that. We also made sure to stop by Home Depot to “pick out paint….chips” and  I left with a purse full of colors.

This is a picture of paint chip art by bedsidesign.

We naturally both gravitate to oranges [thank goodness we agree since orange is such an intense color] so in the end we chose a color palette based on orange. I love the juxtaposition of our white and black frames. I didn’t want to get matchy-matchy so I intentionally chose different types of paint chips. I also experimented with taking more of an abstract approach – no straight lines – more of an organic assembly.

This is a picture of paint chip art by bedsidesign.

The total cost for this project: $3 [this is a high estimate]. The great thing is if you want to add color but you don’t want to settle with one you can really create your own palette. You could also rotate colors seasonally. The possibilities are endless. I always make sure I grab some paint chips when I go into Home Depot. Check out the latest paint chips I picked up last week here and here. Does the last one look familiar?

3 comments

  1. Pingback: DIY crotchet craft fair booth — bunting « Family Bugs Blogging

Leave a Reply

