The HUMP: Part 17 – Simplicity

Too often are lives are cluttered with things pulling us away from the simple things in life. We overcomplicate. We stress. We ignore the simple solutions since they sound too easy. Sometimes they really are that easy! I’m still learning how to take a step back and find the balance. Recently I made the switch to part-time work [we’re talking day job here]. My husband’s schedule was between part-time and full-time hours weekly and I was putting in 40+ hours each week. I loved my job. I liked to work, but it wasn’t working for my health. We decided to see if I could work part-time. After a couple of weeks of figuring out the logistics [and stressing] my job told me I would be able to start part-time. Just like that. We aren’t rich, but to us it wasn’t worth the extra stress and health issues for me to stay an extra 10 hours at work. I know everyone can’t manipulate their schedules like that but there are other things that can be shuffled around. Now I get to work at a job that I love and still have a life. My health is starting to bounce back and I’m happier.

We also “downsized” – I put this in quotes because we aren’t homeowners. We rented half of a 4,000 square foot house…all that space. Rooms weren’t even utilized. The place was gorgeous but we were just filling it with things because it was so huge. We made the decision to find a smaller apartment. We wanted something manageable and for two people we didn’t need a mansion. By downsizing we sold a lot, donated more, and curated our things. Now we have the things that we absolutely love. We have enough space, and we can keep our space clean. Do you know what? We’re happier with less!

simplicity print by Raphael Mahon.

I love this print by Raphael Mahon. The quote is brilliant and I love that it has the word “make” in it. Make implies action. Simplicity won’t ever just happen in this day and age. We have to strive for it, and sometimes that takes a little work or sacrifice. I would rather spend my energy simplifying my life instead of stressing and getting overwhelmed.

How are you trying to simplify your life?

4 comments

  1. Stacey

    Good for you for making the changes you need to be happier and healthier. Many people ignore the signs and end up really unhappy. Smart girl! It’s amazing how little we all really need to live and be completely content. We all have way more than we need and it’s always good to scale back and LOVE what you do have.
    Have a happy… simple… day.

Leave a Reply

