Spotlight: Variya- Hip, edgy artisan jewelry in a vintage – modern style.

Spotlight: Variya –

Today I am introducing you to my favorite artisan jewelry maker – Variya! She is extremely talented, and is a dear friend of mine. She created and designed the jewelry for my wedding. I wanted something unique and nautical, but not cheesy. I also wanted to think outside the box of bridal jewelry and add a punch of color.

custom wedding jewelry variya

Keeping with the theme,  and knowing I could handle a little drama (come on, I’m a Long Islander) we went with a navy freshwater pearl cluster, Swarovski crystals, and a teardrop shell pendent, embellished with a long crystal and pearl dangle at the closure in the back. It was love at first sight! Here’s a shot of me seeing my necklace for the first time.

christie jones of bedsidesign

“I love creating the perfect design for a wedding and seeing how happy a bride is to have the jewelry she dreamed of for her perfect day.”

I also decided to surprise my bridesmaids with necklaces that mirrored the look of mine with a navy freshwater pearl, Swarovski crystal and silver chain.

custom bridal jewelry

So, if you ask me, Variya is the place to find hip, edgy artisan jewelry in a vintage – modern style. I also have sensitive skin and luckily Variya takes that into consideration.

“I specialize in Titanium & Niobium Earrings for metal allergies and extra sensitive ears. All of my pieces are designed and hand-crafted by me, of course! Custom work is also my specialty, please contact me for your custom design for any occasion.”

But it doesn’t stop there…Variya has an Etsy site where you can purchase her jewelry as in – it is hand-crafted but it can be everyday jewelry as well! I recently received this necklace as a present for my anniversary (thanks honey). Not only is it super unique but it’s called Tangerine Crush – totally hot for 2012 since the Pantone color of the year is Tangerine Tango (17-1463).

tangerine crush necklace

Interested in learning a little more about Variya? Check out our Q&A.

Q & A with Tonya White from Variya:

What’s your favorite thing to do in your city (or about your city)?

I enjoy being downtown, so wandering around with a good cup of coffee is fun for me. I also love going to the Farmer’s Market!

What’s your favorite past time or hobby?

Doing anything with my boys (husband and son) & reading. I also run, but that’s a love/hate thing.

Can you share a recent favorite read or find?

It’s so hard to pick because I like a lot of different styles. My latest fave is the Hunger Games series [by Suzanne Collins].  I’ve been putting off the last book because I don’t want the story to end!  

What is an interest, or something you’re passionate about (this could be a cause that you support)?

I’m passionate about caring for people in need, I donate part of my profits to World Vision, but I am also part of a community here in Syracuse that seeks to care for people here at home who are in need. We’re helping people in our own neighborhoods, as well as volunteering with organizations that seek to bring renewal to this city and the people here. I speak Spanish and I love to use that in conjunction with my passion to care for people in need here in Syracuse. 

I also love organic gardening. I was so amazed the first time I planted a seed and something actually grew! It’s still exciting to me every time it happens.

What is on your bedside table?

A photo of my son when he was born (awwww!) sleep mask, ear plugs (yes, I live in the city) usually whatever I’m currently reading, lip balm, a lamp, a dish for random stuff, and an alarm clock (old school).  It’s a big table.

What are five things you couldn’t live without?

I actually could live without these things, but I’d prefer not to: coffee, my camera, music, friendship, and love.


Thanks again Variya for creating absolutely stunning pieces of art for us to wear! Find Variya in stores here; online at Etsy; check out her blog; be a fan on Facebook, or follow her on Twitter!

6 comments

  1. Pingback: Art on the Porches « bedsidesign
  2. Pingback: Local Community + Happiness | bedsidesign
  3. Pingback: Local Community + Happiness « bedsidesign
  4. Pingback: November Sponsors! « bedsidesign

Leave a Reply

